Eastern Mountain Time

New Single - Different Tomorrow Night - Out Now!!!

                                                                                                                                                        Photo by Luke Awtry

                                                                                                                                                       Photo by Luke Awtry

In August of 2016 Eastern Mountain Time went into the barn/studio to start working on the songs for their follow up to 2015’s self-titled album, Eastern Mountain Time (released on Portsmouth, New Hampshire’s burst & bloom records). The goal was to craft a song cycle that would serve as a nod to both golden country and northern New England’s green mountains. In the year leading up to these sessions Sean Hood (guitar & vocals), Danny LeFrancois (drums & vocals), and Jason Pappas (bass) played countless - eh, you could probably count ‘em - Eastern Mountain Time shows throughout Vermont and the northeast, crafting and living inside of the songs that would come to make up the bulk of Mountain Country. In order to make a real-deal country album, the band enlisted Paper Castles’ Brennan Mangan to play pedal steel guitar, piano, and organ. It immediately became clear during recording that Mangan’s vision and skill would pair beautifully with the band’s musical sensibilities and he has since become a steady member of the EMT live band.

Mountain Country was self-released digitally and on vinyl on November 10th 2017.

In a review published in advance of the release, Seven Days’ Dan Bolles praised the record, writing “This is shuffling, 1970s-style country music as much by way or urban poet Charles Bukowski as Gram Parsons. As a result, the album has an edge that saves it from sad-sack navel-gazing” and “Altogether, Mountain Country could serve as either the soundtrack to wasted nights or the odd clarity of the hangover that sometimes follows them.”